Community Solutions

Community Solutions


The Community Solutions Program is a professional leadership development program for the best and brightest community leaders worldwide.

Community Solutions Fellows complete a four-month fellowship with a U.S. nonprofit organization or local government agency. Our Community Leadership Institute provides an integrated leadership curriculum and individualized coaching throughout the fellowship. Fellows return home to apply their new skills through a community action project.

The Community Solutions Program is sponsored by the U.S. Department of State with funding provided by the U.S. Government and supported in its implementation by IREX.

Become a Community Solutions Program Fellow

The application for the Community Solutions Program is now open.

Quick Facts

  • Since 2010, staff have supported 630 fellows from 83 countries in becoming more effective leaders.
  • CSP alumni have impacted over 274,600 individuals through their follow-on community development initiatives.
  • The CSP program has partnered with 347 diverse host organizations in 90 U.S. cities.
  • After completing the Community Solutions Program, 98% of fellows felt CSP made them a more effective community leader.
This was one of the most enriching and challenging experiences I have had in my life. Community Solutions Fellow Adriana Obregon, Colombia


U.S. flag and US Department of State seal


The goal of the Community Solutions Program is for engaged community leaders to positively impact the complex economic, environmental, political, and social challenges in their communities and become ambassadors for mutual understanding.

The Community Solutions Program also increases the capacity of U.S. partner organizations by nurturing collaboration and partnerships with international professionals and organizations.

Project Activities

  • Four-month U.S.-based practicum: Community Solutions fellows are matched with nonprofit organizations, private entities, and government offices across the United States where they work with U.S. colleagues on initiatives related to issues they face in their own communities.
  • Community Leadership Institute: The cornerstone of the program, the Community Leadership Institute is a leadership academy that provides customized learning and coaching to each fellow before, during, and after the U.S. experience. Fellows participate in online sessions and in-person workshops, receive professional coaching, engage in experiential learning through tailored professional fellowships at U.S. host institutions, and interact with other professionals in their field.
  • Community-based initiatives: Community Solutions fellows develop innovative community action projects in collaboration with their U.S. host institutions and implement these projects after they return to their home countries. Project summaries are made available online, allowing fellows to share their work with other community leaders around the world.
  • International network of community development professionals: Fellows continue to network and collaborate with like-minded leaders from around the world on global development issues through alumni activities and opportunities offered through the Community Leadership Institute online platform.





  • Civil Society
  • Governance
  • Gender Equality & Inclusion
  • Leadership
  • Africa
  • Asia
  • Americas
  • Europe & Eurasia
  • Middle East & North Africa
  • Albania
  • Algeria
  • Bangladesh
  • Bhutan
  • Bolivia
  • Bosnia and Herzegovina
  • Botswana
  • Brazil
  • Brunei
  • Bulgaria
  • Cambodia
  • Cameroon
  • Colombia
  • Costa Rica
  • Czech Republic
  • Democratic Republic of the Congo
  • Dominican Republic
  • Ecuador
  • Egypt
  • El Salvador
  • Estonia
  • Ethiopia
  • Federated States of Micronesia
  • Fiji
  • Ghana
  • Guatemala
  • Guinea
  • Haiti
  • Hungary
  • Indonesia
  • Israel
  • Iraq
  • Jamaica
  • Jordan
  • Kazakhstan
  • Kenya
  • Kyrgyzstan
  • Laos
  • Latvia
  • Lebanon
  • Liberia
  • Libya
  • Lithuania
  • North Macedonia
  • Malawi
  • Malaysia
  • Maldives
  • Moldova
  • Mongolia
  • Montenegro
  • Morocco
  • Mozambique
  • Myanmar (Burma)
  • Namibia
  • Nepal
  • Pakistan
  • Papua New Guinea
  • Paraguay
  • Peru
  • Philippines
  • Republic of the Marshall Islands
  • Romania
  • Serbia
  • Rwanda
  • Sierra Leone
  • Singapore
  • Slovakia
  • South Sudan
  • Sri Lanka
  • Sudan
  • Syria
  • Tajikistan
  • Tanzania
  • Thailand
  • Timor Leste
  • Trinidad and Tobago
  • Tunisia
  • Turkey
  • Turkmenistan
  • Uganda
  • Ukraine
  • Uruguay
  • Uzbekistan
  • Vietnam
  • West Bank/Gaza
  • Zambia
  • Zimbabwe